Montana Personhood Amendment Defeated by mere 5 Votes! Dr. Annie Bucachek Urges to “fight vociferously” for Life.

0
938

Montana Gazette Readers: 

The following email, penned by Doctor Annie Bucachek from the Flathead Valley, was submitted to various freedom-minded groups and edited (for Montana Daily Gazette) by Brenda Roskos. 

For those who do not know, here is a description of exactly what the Montana Personhood Amendment is:

Montana Personhood Amendment is defined as “a “person” as “all members of the species Homo sapiens at any stage of development, including the stage of fertilization or conception, regardless of age, health, level of functioning, or condition of dependency.”

(Below is Dr. Bucachek’s email) 

Subject: MTHF ACTION Item: HB 337 PERSONHOOD got 95 YAY VOTES! Just shy of the 100 votes needed to pass.

From Doctor Annie Bucachek:

MONTANA ADVOCATES for the PREBORN

HB 337—Personhood Amendment Bill got significant majorities in both houses but was five votes shy of the 100 votes needed. Rather than a simple majority of votes like most bills, 2/3 of 150 legislators must vote yes for a constitutional amendment to get on the ballot.

I am, of course, disappointed but not discouraged. With the long, sordid history of abortion in this country, we labor in anticipation of a marathon, not a sprint.

There have been many gains over the years, and you have made a huge difference. WE GOT AN ADDITIONAL TEN VOTES compared to 2019 if I include the pro-life Republican House member who was excused from the 3rd reading due to a family emergency. (86 to 96) WE ARE GETTING CLOSER EACH SESSION! 

During the 2021 session, the Republican leadership worked passionately and diligently to promote the Personhood Amendment.

For a brief history of Personhood:

In 2007, it didn’t pass the House. In 2009, Montana was the first state in the USA for Personhood legislation to pass both houses; in 2011, a Republican member of the Senate Judiciary was the deciding vote to kill the bill after we had gotten almost 2/3 vote in the House, in 2015 and 2017 Republican leadership sabotaged, in 2019 it turned to supportive and in 2021 the best ever. We have used (-) votes to get rid of R legislators like Bruce Grubbs. One R who consistently voted against Personhood termed out, and his wife this year voted FOR HB 337.

I will fight vociferously for the God-Given dignity of ALL MANKIND until my last breath!

I am so grateful you are of that same heart and worked especially hard this session contacting legislators!

Please see emails, phone numbers, and message service link to thank the following people:

Caleb Hinkle for sponsoring Personhood, Tom McGillvray for carrying it on the Senate side, leadership in the House Wylie Galt (speaker), Casey Knudsen (speaker pro Tempore), Sue Vinton (majority leader), Majority whips Seth Berglee, Dennis Lenz, Lola Sheldon Galloway, and Derek Skees. On the Senate Side, Mark Blasdel (President), Jason Ellsworth (president pro Tempore), Cary Smith (Senate Majority leader), majority whips: Doug Kary, Gordy Vance, and Steve Fitzpatrick.

To thank these 15 pro-life leaders will not take much time. I include block emails for ultra-quick thank you in the SUBJECT line. Messages can be as simple as THANK YOU for PROMOTING PERSONHOOD HB 337

Click here to send a message to them.

Caleb Hinkle caleb.hinkle@mtleg.gov; 406-529-7091

Tom McGillvray tom.mcgillvray@mtleg.gov; 406-698-4428

Wylie Galt wyliegaltformt@gmail.com; 406-220-0157

Casey Knudsen casey.knudsen@mtleg.gov; 406-390-0274

Sue Vinton sue.vinton@mtleg.gov; 406-855-2625

Seth Berglee seth.berglee@mtleg.gov; 406-690-9329

Dennis Lenz dennis.lenz@mtleg.gov; 406-671-7052

Lola Sheldon-Galloway lola.sheldon-galloway@mtleg.gov; 727-4963

Derek Skees derekskees@gmail.com; 406-212-5493

Mark Blasdel mark.blasdel@mtleg.gov; 406-261-3269

Jason Ellsworth Jason.ellsworth@mtleg.gov; 406-360-0009

Cary Smith cary.smith@mtleg.gov; 406-698-9307

Doug Kary doug.kary@mtleg.gov; 406-698-1478

Gordy Vance vancesd34@gmail.com; 406-587-8608

Steve Fitzpatrick steve.fitzpatrick@mtleg.gov; 406-750-6764

caleb.hinkle@mtleg.gov; tom.mcgillvray@mtleg.gov; wyliegaltformt@gmail.com; casey.knudsen@mtleg.gov; sue.vinton@mtleg.gov; sue.vinton@mtleg.gov; seth.berglee@mtleg.gov; derekskees@gmail.com; dennis.lenz@mtleg.gov; lola.sheldon-galloway@mtleg.gov; mark.blasdel@mtleg.gov; Jason.ellsworth@mtleg.gov; doug.kary@mtleg.gov; cary.smith@mtleg.gov; vancesd34@gmail.com; steve.fitzpatrick@mtleg.gov; 

Galatians 6:9 ” Let us not grow weary in well-doing, for in due time we shall reap a harvest if we do not give up.”

ANNIE BUCACHEK M.D.

President, Montana Pro-Life Coalition




A CALL TO ACTION:

Bringing you conservative news and commentary means it is tough out there on social media. We’re constantly getting kneecapped and constrained by tech companies who find the truth intolerable, resulting in our reach being severely throttled.

For this reason, please consider supporting us directly. If you like what you are reading and desire to to see more, please support our work here.


Stay informed. Subscribe today.
Enter your email address below.

[yikes-mailchimp form="1"]



LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here